I really miss the STN Convention. We learned a lot whether it was life lessons or media lessons. All together the class has learned things about each other and all of our weaknesses and strengths. Now we can all help each other out with our weaknesses and then use our strengths to help others who have weaknesses that are your strengths. I've learned about what I need to work on in Media, I've learned about my patience level, I've even learned about my Leadership skills.

I think that most of our students have benefited by sitting in and listening to the speakers at our break out sessions. We learned about proper interviewing techniques, how to get good b-roll shots, or even simply why or why not you should do certain things in shots. Some of our new-commers learned some valuable things from even the simplest breakout sessions. Even being a 3 year student i learned more about framing better interviews. I enjoy learning things in break our sessions even though I've maybe already learned it the year before.

During this trip I've been extremely patient and sometimes I've lost it. Now I know what pushes my limits and makes me angry. It'll keep me from getting really mad in the future. Even the simplest things like patience is tested at the Convention. It will teach you how to use your time wisely and it will also teach you how your limits will be pushed. Perhaps now I can keep myself away from situations that can cause me lash out.

STN teaches you a lot of things as you can tell. Another thing that the STN Convention has taught me during this past trip and through all the others are my strengths and weaknesses. Going through the competitions cause me to see what I need to work on such as creating more of a story while making a music video. My strengths are taking pictures and b-roll. It helps to know what I'm already doing good on and the things I need help with. Other students can help me with my weaknesses and I can help them with my strengths to fix their weaknesses. It's team work and it actually really works.

Maybe I'll get to go back soon. But for now I'll tresure all the moments with my classmates there. I hope everyone continues to have a great learning experience there.




Leave a Reply.